In this section

Share this page

CCIE Security Certification, Training Courses & Exams

cisco logo smallThe CCIE Security programme is a two-year certification programme intended to recognise the Cisco network security experts who have the necessary skills to test, deploy, configure, maintain, and troubleshoot Cisco network security appliances and Cisco IOS Software devices that establish the security posture of the network.

CCIE Security Prerequisites

As with all CCIE certifications there are no formal prerequisites for Cisco CCIE certification. Candidates are expected to have an indepth understanding of the exam topics and are strongly encouraged to have three to five years of job experience before attempting certification. Students benefit from being a Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) in Security and have experience of the following Cisco products or have attend the relevant training:

  • Cisco Identity Services Engine (SISE)
  • Cisco Secure Access Control System (ACS)
  • Cisco Intrusion Prevention System (IPS)
  • Cisco Web Security Appliance (SWSA)
  • Cisco Email Security Appliance (SESA)
  • Cisco TrustSec 802.1X (802.1X)
  • Cisco Security Manager (SSECMGT

Step One: CCIE Security Written Exam

The written exam is a two-hour, multiple choice test with 90-110 questions covering areas such as security protocols, operating systems, application protocols, security technologies, and Cisco security applications. All exam materials are provided and no outside reference materials are allowed.

Required Exam Recommended Training 

350-018 CCIE Security

CCIE Security - Lab Preparation (CCIESEC)

Step Two: CCIE Security Lab Exam

The eight-hour lab exam tests your ability to get a secure network running in a timed test situation. You must make an initial attempt of the CCIE lab exam within 18-months of passing the CCIE written exam. If you do not pass the lab exam within three years of passing the written exam, you must retake the written exam before being allowed to attempt the lab exam again.

CCIE Recertification

CCIEs are required to recertify every two years

Active CCIE status shows your commitment to maintaining expert-level knowledge in an industry critical to the success of virtually every organisation. CCIEs are encouraged to continually expand their technical knowledge and are required to pass a recertification exam every two years. If you do not complete your recertification before the deadlines, your CCIE certification will be suspended and you and your employer will lose the benefits associated with your expert status. You have one year to reinstate your CCIE status before you become inactive and must begin the certification process all over again.

For more information on Cisco CCIE Security certification please call us on 0118 912 1929